In less than two weeks I’ll be heading to Dublin for Offset 2013. It’s an annual designers conference that I discovered last year – a couple of weeks after the event! So this year I was one of the early bird ticket holders, and I’m getting really excited about it now.

As mentioned before, I’m a wannabe designer of sorts. I’m fascinated by the work of the creative industry, the variation in the work, and the joy someone can bring to us through their skill. For the last twelve months I’ve spent time researching and following designers and started to recognise names and their work.

One designer I discovered is Sarah Illenberger, who created an amazing infographic from food (see below). I’ve always used food to express my creativity, but only in the guise of cooking a nice meal. Illenberger uses the raw material as props for her designs. So, needless to say, I was thrilled to see her added to the Offset 2013 line up. It’s a three day event so there are plenty more designers who have work I admire and others I’m eager to see to learn more about.

Others designers talking over the weekend are Oliviero Toscani who did the infamous Benetton ad campaigns I remember from my days in Dublin. Niamh Sharkey, the author and illustrator of one of my daughter’s favourite books – The Ravenous Beast – will also be there. Street artists, photographers, digital creatives, and more illustrators (Oliver Jeffers has just confirmed his attendance) will take to the stage so I’m hoping to learn a lot. I’ll share more when I get back, or follow me here for updates.

20130326-001553.jpg

20130326-003532.jpg

